Top races in Collin County Texas Elections, November 2, 2010

This November 2nd (Tuesday) are the "mid-term" elections across the US. In Texas, Straight Party voting includes the Republican, Democratic, Libertarian, and Green parties. In Collin County there are a lot of important races that will help determine the future of Texas; a typically strong Republican state, but early voting results suggest the democrats may be gaining momentum.
The following are specific county wide contests. Click here for a complete list of sample ballots and to find your voting location by precinct.
Also check out the Libery Institutes Free Voters Guide.
Gubernatorial Candidates:
Rick Perry – http://www.governor.state.tx.us/ Republican Incumbent
Bill White – Former Mayor of Huston - www.billwhitefortexas.com/ Democrat
Kathie Glass - http://www.kathie4guv.com/ LP
Deb Shafto - http://electdebshafto.org/ Green Party
Write-in Candidate(s)
Lieutenant Governor:
David Dewhurst - http://www.daviddewhurst.com/ Republican incumbent
Linda Chavez-Thompson - http://texansforlinda.com/ Democrat
Scott Jameson - www.scottjameson.org/ LP
Herb Gonzales, Jr. - txgreens.org/herbgonzales/ Green Party
U.S. Representative District 3:
Sam Johnson - http://www.samjohnson.house.gov/ - Republican Incumbent
John Lingenfelder - http://www.lingenfelderforcongress.com/ Democrat
Christopher J. Claytor - http://www.claytorforcongress.org/ LP
Write-in Candidate(s)
U.S. Representative, District 4:
Ralph M. Hall - http://ralphhall.house.gov/ - Republican Incumbent and longest standing U.S. Representative.
VaLinda Hathcox - http://valindahathcoxforcongress.blogspot.com/ Democrat
Jim D. Prindle - www.prindleforcongress.com/ LP
Shane Shepard - http://shaneshepard.net/ independent
Attorney General:
Greg Abbot - https://www.oag.state.tx.us/ - Republican Incumbent
Barbara Ann Radnofsky - http://www.radnofsky.com/ - Democrat
Jon Roland - http://www.jonroland.org/ LP
Comptroller of Public Accounts:
Susan Combs - http://www.window.state.tx.us/ Republican Incumbent
Mary J. Ruwart - www.ruwart.com/Pages/Home/ LP
Edward Lindsay - http://www.newmenu.org/lindsay Green Party
Commissioner of the General Land Office:
Jerry Patterson - http://www.glo.state.tx.us/about/commissioner.html Republican Incumbent
Hector Uribe - http://www.hectoruribe.com/ Democrat
James L. Holdar - http://vote-tx.org/Intro.aspx?State=TX&Id=TXHoldarJamesL Libertarian Party (hard to find information one – wonder how serious he is about this race).
Commissioner of Agriculture:
Todd Staples - http://www.agr.state.tx.us/agr/main_render/0,1968,1848_1944_0_0,00.html?channelId=1944 - Republican Incumbent
Hank Gilbert - hankgilbert.com/ Democrat
Rick Donaldson - http://www.rickdonaldsonfortexasagriculturecommissioner.com/ LP
Railroad Commissioner:
David Porter - www.votedavidporter.com/content/index.cfm Republican Nominee (unseated the incumbent).
Jeff Weems - http://jeffweemsforcommissioner.com/ Democrat
Roger Gary - http://www.austinpost.org/content/roger-gary LP
Art Browning - http://www.newmenu.org/artbrowning LP
Justice, Supreme Court, Place 3:
Debra Lehrmann - http://www.judgedebralehrmann.com/ Republican - appointed June 21, 2010 by Governor Rick Perry to replace Harriet O'Neill
Jim Sharp - http://www.1stcoa.courts.state.tx.us/court/justice_jsharp.asp , www.txdemocrats.org/sharp/ Democrat
William Bryan Strange, III - http://vote-tx.org/Intro.aspx?State=TX&Id=TXStrangeWilliamBryanIII LP
Justice, Supreme Court, Place 5:
Paul Green - http://www.justicepaulgreen.com/ Republican Incumbent
Bill Moody - www.txdemocrats.org/moody/ Democrat
Tom Oxford - http://vote-tx.org/Intro.aspx?Id=TXOxfordTom LP
Justice, Supreme Court, Place 9:
Eva Guzman - http://www.evaguzman.com/ Republican Incumbent
Blake Bailey - http://baileyforsupremecourt.com/ Democrat
Jack Armstrong - http://www.jack4justice.com/ LP
Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 2:
Lawrence “Larry” Meyers - http://www.judgelawrencemeyers.org/ Republican Incumbent
J. Randell Stevens - http://vote-tx.org/Intro.aspx?State=TX&Id=TXStevensJRandell LP
Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 5:
Cheryl Johnson - www.judgecheryljohnson.com/ - Incumbent
Dave Howard - www.votesmart.org/bio.php?can_id=68895 - LP
Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 6:
Michael E. Keasler - www.judgekeasler.com/ Republican Incumbent
Keith Hampton - www.hamptonforjudge.com/ Democrat
Robert Ravee Virasin - elections.star-telegram.com/VG/VGDisplay.aspx?RaceGroupId=17 LP
Justice 5th Court of Appeals District, Place 4:
Lana Myers - http://www.justicelanamyers.com/ Replication Incumbent
Bonnie Lee Goldstein - bonnieleeforjustice.com/ Democrat
Justice, 5th Court of Appeals District, Place 12, Unexpired Term:
Robert M. (Bob) Fillmore - http://www.justicebobfillmore.com/ Republican Incumbent
Lawrence J. Praeger - http://www.tdwcc.org/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/2010AnswersLarryPraeger.pdf Democrat
Criminal District Attorney:
Currently John R. Roach not running for re-election.
Greg Willis - http://www.gregwillis.org/ Republican
Rafael De La Garza II - delagarzaforda.com/default.aspx Democrat
County Judge:
Keith Self - www.keithself.com/
David M. Smith - http://www.dms4collincounty.com/
Judge, County Court at Law Number 3:
Lance S. Baxter - http://www.baxterforjudge.com/BaxterforJudge/Home.html Republican
Sajeel S. Khaleel - www.yidio.com/sajeel-khaleel-for-judge-collin-county-by-raja-zahid-a-kha... Democrat
Justice of the Peace, Precinct No. 3, Place 2:
John E. Payton - www.jpforjp.com/ Republican incumbent
Rey V. Flores - www.youtube.com/watch?v=HAkVyYH6Occ Democrat
District Clerk:
Patricia Crigger - www.votecrigger.com/
Write-in Candidate(s)
Member, State Board of Education, District 9:
Thomas Ratliff - www.thomasratliff.com/ Republican
Jeff McGee - www.votesmart.org/bio.php?can_id=123947 LP
Paul Cardwell - txgreens.org/paulcardwell/ Green Party
State Senator, District 8:
Florence Shapiro - http://www.senate.state.tx.us/75r/senate/members/dist8/dist8.htm Republican Incumbent
Ed Kless - http://electkless.com LP
Texas State Board of Education, District 12:
George Clayton - http://www.georgemclayton.com/ Republican
Amy Parsons - http://www.parsonstx.com LP
There are also a lot of State Representative’s running un-apposed, and other more local candidates. Check ou the Voter guide from the Liberty Institute.
------------------
Who will I vote for?
Probably a mix of Libertarian Party (those who actually have web-site with good information on them), and Republicans. However, for the first time I'm finding myself interested in a Democrat. Bill White... Why? Take a look at Huston; even Glen Becks “An inconvenient Book” talks a lot about some of the positive points for Huston that potentially could be at least partially thanks to Bill White.

No comments: